Weights room Blog 1

My level of effort and engagement today: Achieved

Why have you placed yourself at this level? Give supporting evidence.

Today I wasn’t able to physically participate in the lesson in the same way as everyone else, but I was given the task of helping people out if they needed it, which it turned out they did. I know a little bit about gym equipment and how to perform some exercises so I recommended some exercises here and spotted some people there. Though I obviously wasn’t going through the physical exertion that others were so I don’t believe I could really make my level anymore than an achieved.

Factors that influence participation: environmental appreciation, social factors, equipment needed

Factor 1: environmental appreciation

I am fully aware that a gym is not usually what you’d call an environment and I get that it’s not a forest, but it is a type of cultural environment. And I appreciate it because it is a place where people go to better themselves, get fitter, achieve goals and push limits. The environment is made even better when it’s filled with a bunch of your friends; some of which know what they’re doing, some of which don’t and some of which don’t give a crap- it’s a good laugh.

Factor 2: equipment needed

Before my injury I used to go to the gym a fair bit and so I know my way around one. So I was able to lend some technique advice to some people and show a few people how to use certain pieces of equipment and recommend exercises. It influenced my participation because when you see somebody using a piece of equipment incorrectly or not to their full potential, you want to correct them and show them the way so they can get the best out of the exercise.

Factor 3: social factors

The fact that all of my friends were there makes it all the more enjoyable because it’s fun yelling at (motivating) your friends when they’re trying something challenging or helping them out by spotting them. It gives the gym good vibes and all in all it’s a good time when you can have a quick chat to them in their breaks or show them something new.

Bearing in mind the criteria in Resource 1, what could you do to improve your future participation?

I’m not sure how else i could really involve myself under the circumstances I was in, so yeah I am unaware of what I could have done to improve my future participation- other than to actually be able to physically participate obviously.

Leave a comment