Five- bat blog

My level of effort and engagement today: Merit

Why have you placed yourself at this level? Give supporting evidence.

This lesson we played a game of five bat against a year 13 class. It was quite tough because they played the game a lot more tactically than us and also slightly cheated the rules at times. They absolutely annihilated us. Their ball throwers seemed to be a lot more powerful and correctly timed than ours, they had a line of people stand in front of the runners to protect them so they didn’t get out, their bowls were a lot more accurate. I bowled a couple of times and somehow I managed to end up near the front of the line each time because nobody seemed to really want to participate and would try and stand as newest tot he back of the line as possible. I didn’t gas bag with my friends to an extent that was stopping me participating and I feel as if I contributed somewhat positively to the team play.

Factors that influence participation: fun & enjoyment, challenge, social factors

Factor 1: fun & enjoyment + Factor 2: challenge + Factor 3: social factors

As much as I don’t enjoy loosing, I enjoyed playing against a bigger and better team because it’s a good challenge and it keeps things interesting. It keeps everybody striving and trying; whereas if you were winning by a mile (as the other team was) you’d perhaps slack off a bit. Lots of funny things happened and I found myself laughing often, which made it all the more enjoyable. These two factors influenced my participation by making me want to participate because we were doing something new and different. Until this term we’d not played any games against other classes so it was a cool new environment to be put into. Friends make everything the merrier, and I always enjoy doing sport with mates. I know most of the people in my P.E class reasonably well, but those in the other class not so much, so it was a nice mixture of individuals.

Bearing in mind the criteria in Resource 1, what could you do to improve your future participation?

I think to improve my future participation I could have maybe suggested we have a team talk to suss out what tactics we were going to go into the game with, because we went in quite cold and nobody really knew what we were doing and we didn’t have a game plan. The other class worked together well the last time we played them so we should have assumed the same this time and come into the situation more prepared.

Leave a comment